My Truth ~ Part One: A Little Background Information

submission 1

I’ve shared some personal details of who I am along the way on this blog and there are others that follow my blog that I’ve gotten to know through email, text, and phone calls. However, there is so much more to my world than meets the eye. Even this 4, maybe 5 part (6 parts?), series I plan on sharing will not be enough and will only go so deep because I’m sure I will be leaving out details, but not for the reasons you may think. The truth is I can’t remember them and then all of the sudden a memory comes back. My lack of memory and recall is not from simply forgetting, it’s just that my memory loss stems from trauma due to abuse, half-hearted suicide attempts (oh those cries for help!), and drugs. I have 4 brothers and the 3 older  were drug dealers. We grew up in an educated, middle class house with both parents present, but there was a very dark side to our lives. I know how to compartmentalize and I know how to block memories.

friends 2

I have a friend from high school (we’ll call her J) that experienced this culture with me and to this day we’ll call each other up with a memory that one of us had of ourselves or the other. There are things J remembers that I did that I have absolutely no recall of and vice versa. We rely on each other to piece together a total of 5 years of teenage hell. We joke that we each hold a part of the other’s brain. We went to a lot of parties together and we took things we didn’t even know we were taking, we did things we didn’t know we were doing. We know we are walking miracles because the chances of becoming addicted or over-dosing were so great. The chance of something sinister happening was probably even greater. J is a very real and very true friend and she knows me very well. J knows when I’m venting out of frustration, when I’m being as ass, when I’m full of fear or anger and I say things I don’t mean, when I exaggerate to get attention (shut up, we all do it), when I need a shoulder to cry on, or a friend to make me laugh until I pee my pants. I know her the same way she knows me and because of that we never argue or fight because we don’t have to. We have a knowing and an understanding of each other. I’ve shared very little about her with other friends because NO ONE is allowed to say anything against her. We had our 30 year high school reunion in August and we didn’t go. We told people all kinds of reasons why we couldn’t go (money, husbands), but the truth is that J ran into some people from our past and it dredged up some memories. We both freaked a little. We talked on the phone the night of the reunion. We dealt with the bad memories and moved on. J does not know I am a submissive and my husband is my Dominant. One day I will tell her.

fear 1

Now, there are secrets that I’ve barely admitted to myself out of absolute shame and guilt. J only knows the most minutia of these secrets. The only one who knows it all is my husband, but it took me years to eek it out to him and I’ve never gone into full explicit detail, but he knows more than enough. He knows the depths of how I feel and he has always been there for me without judgement to let me cry it out until I was bone dry and then let me cry some more. I did not share these things with him for our first 6 or so years together and he never understood where my rage, depression, or despair came from. I have intentionally been selective about revealing this information with friends and recently that has come to bite me in the ass.

Over the last year, and on an almost daily basis, I was encouraged to drop my armor and just be me and that I would be loved no matter what. I shared some things, but without all the supporting details of my life, they could never fully comprehend and because of my purposeful deletions I was more than misunderstood, I was attacked for it, and not just me, but my husband as well. The big lesson I learned is that sometimes walls are a good thing because some people should just never be allowed in your life. I was on the “I’m finally being who I really am and we’re all in this together” crappola bandwagon so I thought it safe to open up and for some reason I believed any venting or fear would be apparent. I thought that, like my husband or J, they would tell me everything was going to be OK and to calm down, breathe, and think it through. Then we had a family tragedy and I was like a spewing fountain of fear and I received some of the worst advice I ever received in my life (and I’m even including advice I once received from a junkie). I am so thankful I didn’t drink the poison because it would have meant an end to my marriage, my children would have been torn apart, and my entire life as I know it would have ended. For the record, I take complete responsibility for my actions and everything that occurred because I FUCKING KNOW BETTER! I was the one who dropped my armor and who breached her own protective wall. You can be rest assured that my sword is now sharper than ever, the walls to my city have been fortified, and now I even have a beautiful shiny new moat because ignorant people are no longer allowed in.

friends 1

I have a soul-sister who I will refer to as D. Our relationship transcends friendship. She is a mentor, a sister, a mother, an aunt, a spiritual advisor, and a source of wisdom that I have never found in anyone else. She is a gift to me and it is a relationship that I treat with the finest of care because she deserves all the very best I have to give. No, she is not an angel or a prophet (although I argue that with her), she is just a human with flaws and all. I have been there for her and I know she will always be there for me. We have an agreed arrangement that we NEVER badmouth our husbands to each other, not even a little, not even in jest. If there is a genuine problem we don’t dog the men. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve come to her with a problem not even saying anything bad, but her words to me are emphatically, “Don’t tell me anything you can’t say to him. Your job is to go to him first before you ever come to me.” Wise woman. Our other agreed arrangement is that we do not go into any details about our sex lives. The main reason is that her husband used to be a Pastor at a church we all used to attend. In all the years I’ve known her the one thing I didn’t know was that she and her husband had, for many years, a D/s marriage. According to her it was mainly in the bedroom. There is an age difference between them with her being 58 and him being 72. He has had some health problems the last few years so they don’t do a lot of what they used to. It has always been obvious that her husband is the head of their household. They did it their way, but that’s what we should all be doing. It’s less than a year ago that I revealed what my husband and I had started and she just smiled and then told me a little about her life. We bonded on a new level, but she took things slowly, as is her way, and never tried to unload all kinds of ideas and opinions on me and how to have a D/s marriage. She uses wisdom when dealing with people and is a listener. Her advice is very “Kung Fu” (we both used to love that show) because she says that many times we already have the answer to the question or problem so allowing someone to just talk it out will reveal the answer and the truth. It was recently that I asked her to mentor me in submission and this is the one of the reasons I am writing this today.

This is a catharsis for me. D encouraged me to put as much down as I can so I can move past the areas that are done, heal the areas I need to heal, and get help in the areas that need work. My husband has given his blessing and with that, I will start tomorrow with My Sexual Awakening in Part 2 of My Truth. Read if you like or delete if you’re so inclined because this I must do for me.

29 thoughts on “My Truth ~ Part One: A Little Background Information

  1. I’m very much looking forward to reading your cleansing. I’ve written some of these too. Not as many as are in my head or that I’ve shared, but there is a release, a purging, a cleansing that happens that is quite amazing and transforming. Kudos to you for having the strength to let it out and share it with us.

    xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you for even wanting to read it. That phrase, “Tell the truth and shame the devil” keeps popping in my head. I process things for a long time and I’ve finally come to the point where I have to release because I started to implode.

      Like

      • mmmmm yes, I know this place well. Writing I’m convinced is what saved me from doing just that. Hope it works for you too and as Phoenix said, know you have a support system here. No judgement from this wild child, trust me.

        xo

        Like

  2. I’ve purged all my darkest secrets and fears in my blog, and it is the best thing I could have done. Not only did I free myself… but I found acceptance and the most unbelievable love from this amazing community.

    I’ll be reading and supporting you. XX

    Like

    • There really are many supportive people in this community, but you have to weed through them first. Posers get exposed because eventually their greed, jealousy, and mouths get the best of them. I’m looking forward to the purge. Thank you so much for your support; it means a lot to me xo

      Like

  3. “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds”
    Purging the hurt is cathartic and allows healing to take place.
    Im so glad you have your friend D! How wonderful to be able to share your life with a close and personal friend who knows and understands the life you are leading!
    May you find peace and healing through this process Elle! We’re all here for you too!♥

    Like

    • That verse was in my head as I was writing! D is like a guide in the dark. Like I said, though, we do not talk about sex because her husband does not want that part of their lives revealed to anyone and I totally respect that. I know you’re there for me and I’m there for you, too! I’m so thankful for the friendship we’re forging. It means the world to me xxoo

      Like

      • Our pastor just did a whole sermon around that scripture!
        The sex part….its secondary though. Its an amazing piece of the puzzle…but its not the main focus of the dynamic…at least not for me. It goes deeper. And even if youre not sharing that particular piece with each other you will still build a strong bond! Maybe pass along some of her wisdom too!
        Im thankful for your friendship. too Elle! ♥

        Like

      • The deep is what defines and shapes us. I live most comfortably in the shadows. And therefore find kinship and connection with those who played in the darkness. But in the end, those bits are the ones that allow me compassion and humility. Just as yours have. X

        Like

        • You have such a beautiful and profound way of phrasing truth. The darkness I lived in was forced upon me and was never a place I wanted to explore. Once I was free to leave I ran as fast and far as I could from it and worked so very hard at not returning, but it followed me and held me captive.

          Like

  4. Elle, this is great and I look forward to reading the remaining chapters. You are a lovely, brave person – I’ve come clean to my Sir, so to speak, but don’t think I could do it here. You are real – there is quite enough BS around here – I thank you for writing your truth. THIS is what people need to read, THESE are the things a life is made of.

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouragement and kindness. You are one of the brave out there that has helped me find the strength to go down the road I’m going, to share with the world, so to speak, my dark. I’m so thankful you’re in my life and for our friendship xo

      Like

  5. Wishing you the best. Love your thoughts, your writing, your spirituality and look forward to learning from your journey. I am heading back to where I started at the beginning of my marriage– a search for true wifely submission and a Biblical marriage. I had a mentor back then, a stack of assigned books on the topic, and I just kept saying “I won’t be a doormat!!” Funny how life takes us full circle. I’m looking forward to re-reading those books now, and your blog!

    Like

    • Yes, full circle, I know it well. Ever notice that once you come back around you have a lot more wisdom and a lot more motivation? I tend to stay away from standard Christian commentary in my studies because I find most justbsay the same thing. I believe if you want to go deep you have to study Judaism and really understand the people amd culture of the time. Afterall, Jesus was a Jew and directly quoted from the Talmud. I could go on and on with that one. Thanks for reading. I lost my voice for a while, but really needed the break anyway.

      Like

  6. I am so glad you are writing this for you and that you are sharing it with us because not is it going to help you it will help us as well.
    Glad you have some good true friends you can rely on to help you with your journey.
    Lastly, I am so glad we found each other again.
    Thanks again Cailin girl for directing her to our blog. 🙂

    Much love

    Like

  7. Pingback: My Truth ~ Part Two: My Sexual Awakening | The Submission of Elle

  8. Pingback: My Truth ~ Part Three: The Woods | The Submission of Elle

Tell Us What You Think

