Chemistry

I had already heard his voice numerous times over the phone and I had imagined the contours of his face and the feel of his skin. The reality of him was more than I could ever hope to dream, but when Coach and I saw each other for the very first time we had instant chemistry. It was like the same bolt of lightening struck the both of us and sent us down on our knees. We saw our future. We were connected profoundly from that moment on.

There have only been three other times that I have felt that glimmer with someone. Never as hard-core as what I felt for Coach, but there was something in the air. The third time happened just the other day.

I was downtown on business. I found a meter across the street from the building and as I was putting change in the meter a man riding a Ducati pulled up and parked next to me. He was tall, but not too tall, maybe 6’3″. He smiled and took off his helmet. He had a chiseled chin, a strong jaw, and high cheek bones. His eyes were blue and he had mocha colored skin. His hair was dark and a tossle of loose curls. His leather jacket was unzipped and he wore a tight grey t-shirt that showed the definition of his muscular chest. He was a totally crazy handsome man who had to be at least 15 years my junior.

I returned his smile and stared walking. His long strides caught him up with me before I was even half way through the crosswalk. I could feel his eyes burning into me. “Looks like we’re going to the same place.” I smiled and nodded. I hesitated to engage in any coversation with him. I know better.

We entered the building. I’m sure he would have opened the door for me had it not been for the man that was exiting who beat him to the punch. We had to immediately stop and go through security. He got in front of me. What happened to ladies first? And then he turned to me, looked me dead in the eyes, smiled a mischievous smile, unbuckled his belt and pulled it out through the loops of his jeans oh so slowly. Oh. My. God. It made me giggle. I blushed and lowered my eyes. Wow, nice touch.

He put all his items in the bin on the conveyor belt and security called him through. I did the same. He was gathering his things as I made my way through, and having considerably less than he, I scooped up my items and wished him a good day. I quickly got on the elevator and looked right at him as the doors closed.

Obviously there was something between us. It would have been too easy to engage. Had I not been with Coach it may have led to something. Instead of thunder rumbling in the distance and a quick flash of light in the sky it could have been the kind of lightening strike that starts a wildfire. My connection with Coach is much too strong to let something like this go anywhere other than an innocent flirtation.

I don’t believe each of us has only one person in the entire world we’re destined to be with. Chemistry is the easy part because it’s either there or isn’t. Love takes time. Love is deliberate. Love builds and you endeavor to develop it. Love takes work and commitment.

Keeping your relationship from going stagnant is no easy task. The relationship killer is complacency. You can’t take each other for granted.

Tonight I knelt and used my teeth to pull off Coach’s belt. He kissed me in such a way that my stomach did flip flops. This is our chemistry. This is our love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 thoughts on “Chemistry

  1. Just because you are on a diet, it doesn’t mean you can’t admire the menu. It drives me crazy when I hear, both men and women, complain when their mate notices someone else. Seriously? If I watch a beautiful woman walk past, how the hell could I expect him not to do the same thing? I am also a big believer that every couple has to set their own parameters for their relationship. Exclusive, open, experimental, polyamorous, whatever works for you should be accepted. However, we don’t live in fantasy land, we live in reality and acceptance isn’t a highly valued quality for a lot of people. I actually love this story. There was nothing wrong with feeling the electricity between you and another man. It’s natural. I talk to other men and Professor actually likes it. He smiles because he knows I am coming home to HIM. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Admire you for articulating this so well. It’s sometimes hard for me to own up to feeling that chemistry sometimes because it feels like a betrayal. But we’re human and as a saying goes– “I’m married, not dead.” Enjoy the flirtations!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I love this post because I can feel the electricity between you and Coach as you describe it. The first time I met my husband was in an adult toy store (crazy right??). I don’t know any other way to describe it than maybe fireworks, or lightning, or earthquake, or maybe even being overtaken by a typhoon of emotion. It was the strangest but most wonderful thing I had ever felt in my naive, young and inexperienced 19 years of living. When I walked out the door I told the friend I was with that I would marry him one day, and I didn’t know why, but I just would.

    I have never felt that with anyone else. Yes there is a little flirting here and there, but it is 100% non intentional on my part (or at least I think it is, haha).

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I smiled the whole time I was reading this. I agree, there can be more than one person in the entire world. Yes, each couple, or more, can set their own parameters for life. A little flirt is fun and good for the chemistry back home, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It did make me feel more confident that day. I think on top of taking each other for granted while in a relationship we can take ourselves for granted. Knowing you’re vital and viable makes you look forward instead of idling in park.

      Like

  5. Beautiful little story, enjoyed it for it’s simplicity. After you pulled off his belt with your teeth did you feel the leather across your bottom… oh, sorry. That was none of my business, I don’t even know why I wrote that. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Tell Us What You Think

