The Day After 50

I recently turned 50. 50 is not an easy age to come to grips with. I’m in a transition right now; a major life change. Sometimes I get overwhelmed because starting over at 50 isn’t easy. I’m strong, but I question my endurance.

Coach and I celebrated my birthday at home. The kids were at sleepovers and we settled in with a couple of bottles of wine and some yummy take out from a nearby bistro. We listened to our favorite songs, talked, laughed, and played. It was lovely. Coach had to go in to work the next morning and I had some quiet time to reflect. Out of nowhere I had an epiphany. It left me stunned and shaken. I called Coach immediately so I could discuss it with him. I knew I was discovering something about myself.

I have always tried to dig deep inside to figure out my blocks. I know I have them, but I don’t know why they’re there. I’ve spent many years examining my ways. Just when I think I have a grip another problem occurs and my progress becomes stunted, even regressing.

At 19 I was going to school and waitressing. I was excited about my life and I made the most of every day. I studied hard and worked hard. One day, while at work, I received an emergency phone call from my mother. She failed to tell me to sit down so she could prep me for the news I was about to receive. As soon as I picked up the phone and said hello she screamed at the very top of her lungs the words I can never unhear, “DADDY’S DEAD!!!!!” I stammered, “W-w-what?” She began screaming it over and over and over, completely emptying herself of emotions and dumping them all on me. I dropped the phone and sprinted out of the restaurant into the middle of the street and into oncoming traffic. A childhood friend, who also worked at the restaurant, ran after me and pulled me out of the way of a tractor trailor. He saved my life.

Since that day I have always suffered from work-related anxiety. I have to psyche myself up to go to work. Every now and then I start to panic about work and I just can’t go in. When I was younger I quit jobs because I couldn’t take the pressure. I had jobs that were great and I was fine the whole time. I had other jobs that put me in full-on panic mode. The difficulty of a job was never a determining factor, but rather, the people at the job were the make or break.

Epiphany time

I never put together the correlation between my work anxiety and the day my father died. As I write this it seems so obvious, and yet, it never dawned on me that I have associated work with tragedy, work with loss, work with insecurity, fear, death, and panic. No wonder I go through bouts of near-crippling anxiety. No wonder when there are problems at the job I want to run away.

My new job is going so well. Honestly, I took this job out of necessity, but it does feels good to work again. I like getting paychecks and having great benefits. I had my first performance evaluation and I had a perfect score, the highest in the class. I just completed my fourth week of an intensive 12 week training program. I probably have the least amount of formal tech training, but I have over 30 years of on the job and real life experience. Many in class are young enough to be my kid and have degrees in computer science. I have the most managerial experience in the class. I was told I will move up fast in the company. I went home with a huge smile on my face.

My company offers free and confidential counseling and I plan on taking advantage of it. Knowing my work related fears is the first step. Having guidance and tools to help work through almost 31 years of layers of confusion is welcomed. I embrace this unique opportunity. I have big plans for my future and my career. This is the first step.

My 50th year on this planet has started well. The day after 50 will always be remembered as the day I woke up from the shock of my father’s death.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 thoughts on “The Day After 50

  1. Happy Belated B’Day Young Lady

    Don’t worry about coming to grips with your age m’dear; keep that firm grip you have on your life (the IMPORTANT stuff; your family and relationship)

    I can say that from experience – yes I’m even older than you

    Gary

    Like

  2. Hip, Hip, Hooray! Nifty, Nifty, Ms. Elle is Fifty! What a great age, old enough to know yourself and young enough to still do something naughty. Excellent moment on figuring out a trigger. If you know where something is coming from, you will learn how to address it. XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you fellow Libra. I have tortured myself with self loathing over my fear. So many tears have been shed as to why I would nearly freak out sometimes. It hasn’t happened in a long time and that’s because I have been home with the kids for so long. My 20s were difficult. I felt incompetent. I would push through and then go home and nearly collapse wondering How I was going to get up and do it again. I got easier as I get older. I actually had a full on panic attack the day before I started my new job. Coach helped me through, as he always has. Unfortunately, it happened in front of the kids. They never saw me like that.

      Liked by 2 people

      • It’s ok about the kids. Reality check….life is not always pretty and adults get scared, too. Then they see the success of you getting through it. (I can think of some kids who could use this type of reality…) Love to you and everyone.

        Liked by 1 person

        • The kids are proud of me. As a matter of fact, we were joking around about winning the lottery and I said that I would immediately quit my job if we won 300 million. Our daughter then demanded that I not because I need to follow through so that I overcome and have the success under my belt.

          Liked by 3 people

  3. Hi Elle,

    We are pretty much the same age, however, I won’t turn 50 until next April but in my mind it’s close enough. It’s great that the job is going so well – congrats!!!

    What I love about what you wrote is that we are never too old to learn and grow. So many people get stuck because they forget that. I can only hope & pray I have an epiphany (love that word) the day after my 50th birthday.

    Thank you so much for sharing and reminding us that we aren’t done yet and that there is still plenty of time to better ourselves.

    Big hugs sister!

    Keri

    PS: if the house was empty of littles I hope you received a good, sound bday spanking which I’m sure you absolutely deserved… j/k I know you didn’t deserve it but I hope it was good and loud. I never deserve my spankings either and I know you are a sweet little thing just like me! 😉

    Like

    • I’ve seen many older people refusing to learn new things. The ones that do stay young at heart, even look younger, and have less health problems. The others get bitter, complain about everything, and age rapidly. There have even been studies showing that learning new things keeps you young. It all starts in your mind!

      A childless house set the stage for some wonderfully loud birthday spankings. Spankings are never used for discipline around here 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  4. First of all… Happy Birthday Elle! What a beautiful age to be!
    Secondly: I’m so happy for you the job is going well.
    And thirdly… we never decide wen we have epiphanies, they come when we are ready for them. But yes, it is great that you had this one, especially since you will be able to work through whatever needs to be addressed safely. I love this idea!
    And lastly… glad that you got the house to yourselves for your birthday. I’m sure it must have been a good time 🙂

    Like

Tell Us What You Think

