Where Does Your Time and Energy Go?

I’ve had to prioritize my life out of absolute necessity. Activities that once occupied my time no longer have the same appeal to me. I have found myself feeling overwhelmed by all the activities I used to do and it’s been difficult to complete my regular everyday tasks. This really had me worried until I had a nice long conversation with a new friend yesterday, read an email I received from an old friend, and spoke to my best friend (my Sir). Timing is everything.

Why am I so out of sorts? It’s simple. Since Sir and I mutually decided on our D/s life, I came to realize that many activities that used to take up so much of my time were only fillers. These activities were used to fill the loneliness so I wouldn’t have to think about the void in my heart of not having the connection with my HusDom that I so desperately wanted. Now that we have recognized what we really want and have established this priceless connection I only want to do those things that enhance our family life and our D/s life. We’ve been together a very  long time, and yet, I feel like we’re just starting out…almost like newlyweds. Remember those days when you were all giddy with excitement and you had a smile on your face all the time? Yep, that’s me! With that in mind, I’m changing everything for the better and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

I used to do a lot of volunteer work and had some leadership positions which took up an inordinate amount of time. My Sir asked me to step down and I happily obeyed. It feels good to obey in this way and I know I pleased him. He wants me to spend my extra time getting in shape and that is exactly what I’m doing. Since I have been removing myself from commitments that turned into a drain I have had even more time to help Sir with his business. That’s a win-win!

What are your priorities?

A dear friend of mine has been using a life coach and she sent me the following from their website (http://www.frameofmindcoaching.com):

“Why manage energy? It is the only true option. Time is a constant and something we can do nothing to change. The only time we have is now. So it becomes a matter of the energy we bring to each moment and how fully we can experience now.

Managing energy is so important because:

1) Standing behind “time” only serves to get in our way. I think of it as a form of self sabotage. “I’m too busy” or “I’ll never have time to do that.”

2) Your energy level is a barometer of how well your body and it’s systems are in balance. Low energy is a warning light that something internal is off balance. This imbalance will result in more low energy, deterioration of brain cells, mutation of cells, disease, premature aging and death. Then time won’t mean a thing to you.

In a current class, we are discussing ways to consistently invest in our energy, including foods, lifestyle, emotions and thoughts. The topic of false energy has surfaced. Adrenaline induced, power living that seems to result in a total crash and burn the minute we have down time. As if we are living like a hamster in a wheel, frantically running to get ahead. Students in the class have even discovered it is scary to jump off the wheel! I’d love your thoughts….what is scary about slowing down?”

Everyone thinks that if they slow down they’ll miss out. Don’t believe that lie. Slowing down means completing tasks with your head in the right place rather than doing it quickly just to get it done, which is a time waster in the long run. Be in the moment. Don’t look at anyone else and do what you need to do when you need to do it and do it WELL.

Copyright © 2013 – by The Submission of Elle

Photos courtesy of Pinterest